Races /

Coral Champion Stakes

The Coral Champion Stakes is a greyhound competition that takes place at Romford greyhound stadium and is one of the elite six-bend events in the calendar, which is run over 575m and it can sometimes be used as a trial competition for the St Leger, which takes place in the latter part of the year and attracts some of the finest stayers in training.

This three-round showpiece usually takes place in the latter part of August with six first round heats being followed by three semi-finals, with the top two from those final eliminators battling it out for glory in the main event, and down the years there have been some first rate winners of the event and quickly cemented themselves in the upper echelons of staying greyhounds.

Sail Over was a dual winner of the Champion Stakes for trainer Sam Sykes in 1990 and 1991, while Elderberry Chick was a stunning winner of the 1997 competition breaking the then track record en route to victory when sent off a red-hot favourite, but more recently the likes of Airport Captain, who was another to break the clock in his victory run for Kevin Hutton in 2013 and the Mark Wallis-trained Patchys Kerry, who was victorious in 2015, are just another brace of top stayers to bag victory in what is a cracking event.

2019 Coral Champion Stakes Final Draw

Friday 6th September

  1. Aayamza Express
  2. Newinn Cracker
  3. Swift Tarquin
  4. Sheldan
  5. Ten More (m)
  6. Saleen Ash (w)

2018 Coral Champion Stakes Result

  • 1st - Bombers Bullet 5/2 Fav
  • 2nd - Clash 3/1
  • 3rd - Saleen Ash 7/2
Year Winner Trainer
2018 Bombers Bullet M Wallis
2017 Murrys Act K Boon
2016 Ascot Woodie J Mullins
2015 Patchys Kerry M Wallis
2014 Millwards Master P Young
2013 Airport Captain K Hutton
2012 Smiler Jack C Mosdall
2011 Droopys Hester J Wright
2010 Raving Black S Cahill
2009 Go Big Hitter D Childs
2008 Lenson Joker T Collett
2007 Eye onthe Veto M Wallis
2006 Son Of Phoebe B Clemenson
2005 Denmarknick P Rich
2004 Centour Para B Clemenson
Horse Racing Tips
Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.
Large Tab
Time: 0.0482
Memory: 2.24MB

Your bet is on!

Bet Slip (0)
Balance: £0.00
Remove all
The line, odds or availability of selections has changed.
Please review your betslip.
Total Stake: £ 0.00
Estimated Returns: £ 0.00
Bets are accepted in accordance with the operator's rules
and terms and conditions. Registered Office: Hillside (UK Sports) ENC (registration number P1892), Office 1/2373, Level G, Quantum House, 75 Abate Rigord Street, Ta’ Xbiex, XBX 1120, Malta. Hillside (UK Sports) ENC is licensed and regulated by the British Gambling Commission (Licence Number 55148)
We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It