Races /

East Anglian Derby

The East Anglian Derby is a greyhound competition run at Yarmouth stadium over 462m and is regarded as one of the best four-bend events in the calendar and has often seen dogs that have taken part earlier in the season in the Greyhound Derby take their chance to try and win the coveted prize in what is an event run in the month of September.

Attracting a stellar list of entries, this Category One event sees a classy field line up in the first round heats, with the semi-final being a competitive round with all the greyhounds looking to book their place in the final, which is usually shown in front of the Sky Sports cameras, and often throws up a first class field battling it out for a cracking prize pool.

Charlie Lister OBE has a fine record in the event and between 2006 and 2010 lifted the trophy four times, with Fear Zafonic being his most notable winner as that classy performer managed to win the competition twice, while more recently the likes of Swift Keith and Do It For Twiggy have been another brace of impressive winners for what is one of the late Summer, early Autumn highlights.

2018 East Anglian Derby Quarter Final Draw

Thursday 20th September

  1. Bubbly Bluebird
  2. Dog Mac Arthure
  3. Affane Party
  4. Seaglass Phantom
  5. Kilmore Lemon (m)
  6. King Elvis (m)

Result 2017 - East Anglian Derby Final

  • 1st - Newinn Shadow 8/1
  • 2nd - Murrys Act 9/4
  • 3rd - Hiya Butt 11/8 Fav

Recent East Anglian Derby Winnners

Year Winner Trainer
2017 Newinn Shadow C Lister
2016 Clondoty Alex M Wallis
2015 Do It For Twiggy E Samuels
2014 Swift Keith J Mullins
2013 Any Dak H Kemp
2012 Bubbly Phoenix P Young
2011 Ballymac Ace C Allsopp
2010 Fear Zafonic C Lister
2009 Fear Zafonic C Lister
2008 Ninja Jamie C Lister
2007 Blackrose Mars E Cantillon
2006 Geordie Parker C Lister
2005 Fear No One M Wallis
2004 Fire Height Dan M Puzey