Races /

William Hill St Leger

The St Leger is one of the elite greyhound competitions in the calendar and has seen a host of the elite stayers etch their name into an illustrious roll of honour since its inception, and it is currently held at Perry Barr stadium over 710m and usually starts in late October along with the RFS Puppy Derby, before the final takes centre stage at Plough Lane in early November, and it is the elite six-bend race of the year.

Between 1928 and 1998 the St Leger was held at Wembley, but when that greyhound track closed it moved to Wimbledon, where it was firstly contested over 668m before it was extended to the current 687m, and there have been some memorable winners of the races throughout its history with Jack Harvey being one trainer in particular who had a fine record in the event, winning it five between 1949 and 1961.

More recently, Nick Savva and Mark Wallis have both trained multiple winners of the St Leger, with the latter bagging glory three times between 2009 and 2012, but the most electric winner of the event in recent times was the Charlie Lister-trained Farloe Tango, who smashed the track record en route to victory in the 2013 St Leger, and it's widely recognised as one of the finest performances from a greyhound since the turn of the century.

2017 St Leger Final Draw

Wednesday 8th November

  1. Rubys Rascal
  2. Slippy Maska
  3. Bubbly McCoy
  4. Airmount Tess
  5. Goldies Hotspur (m)
  6. Keplar Nine (w)

Result 2017 - St Leger Final

  • 1st - Rubys Rascal 3/1
  • 2nd - Keplar Nine 5/1
  • 3rd - Goldies Hotspur 10/1

Recent St Leger Winnners

Year Winner Trainer
2017 Rubys Rascal M Wallis
2016 Ferryforth Fran M Wallis
2015 Fizzypop Buddy J Harvey
2014 Roxholme Dream H Keightley
2013 Farloe Tango C Lister
2012 Blonde Reagan M Wallis
2011 Aero Majestic M Wallis
2010 Droopys Bradley P Donovan
2009 Kinda Easy M Wallis
2008 Bubbly Totti T Soppitt
2007 Spiridon Louis L Sams
2006 Ninja Blue C Lister
2005 Greenacre Lin B Clemenson
2004 Roxholme Girl H Keightley
Free Bets
  • Sign up to bet365
  • Market leading bookmaker with massive daily offers
  • Best odds on all horse racing
  • Visit bet365 for their latest promotions
Greyhound Racing
Large Tab
Time: 0.0281
Memory: 1.53MB
Free Bets

Your bet is on!

Bet Slip (0)
Balance: £0.00
Remove all
The line, odds or availability of selections has changed.
Please review your betslip.
Total Stake: £ 0.00
Estimated Returns: £ 0.00
Bets are accepted in accordance with the operator's rules
and terms and conditions. Hillside (UK Sports) LP is licensed
and regulated by the British Gambling Commissioner
(Licence number 39563). Registered Office Hillside (UK Sports) LP
(registration number 117), Unit 1.1, First Floor, Waterport Place,
2 Europort Avenue, Gibraltar.