Races /

Irish Greyhound Derby

The Irish Greyhound Derby is the elite competition in the Emerald Isle and is run over 550 yards at Shelbourne Park, and usually takes place towards the end of September, and attracts not only the elite Irish greyhounds, but also some stars from acrros the water in England, and it's one of the most hotly-anticipated events on the calendar.

It has several venues and between the 1930s and 1960s it was held at Harolds Cross and Shelbourne Park, but it's now the latter that stages the marquee event, and having been run over 525 yards until 1985, it's now raced over 550 yards and some of the greats of the sport have tasted victory in the event, which takes place over a number of Saturday nights at the Dublin venue.

A few months after the English Greyhound Derby at Towcester, that showpiece can often provide vital clues on what British stars will play their hand at Shelbourne Park, while it can often prove a warm-up event for the leading Irish contenders, before they head home for the star competition.

Spanish Battleship was a three-times winner of the Irish Greyhound Derby between 1953 and 1955, while more recently in 2009 it was College Causeway that stormed to victory in stunning fashion to enhance his already lofty reputation, while Ballymac Matt was a notable winner in 2015.

Boylesports Irish Greyhound Derby Final Draw

Saturday 14th September

  1. Kilmacdonagh
  2. Run Happy
  3. Mucky Brae
  4. vacant
  5. Lenson Bocko (w)
  6. Boylesports King (w) 

Result 2019 - Irish Greyhound Derby

  • 1st - Lenson Bocko 4/5 Fav
  • 2nd - Boylesports King 9/1
  • 3rd - Run Happy 7/1

Recent Irish Greyhound Derby Winnners

Year Winner Trainer
2019 Lenson Bocko G Holland
2018 Ballyanne Sim J Robinson
2017 Good News P Guilfoyle
2016 Rural Hawaii G Holland
2015 Ballymac Matt L Dowling
2014 Laughil Blake M O'Donovan
2013 Slippery Robert R Gleeson
2012 Skywalker Puma F O'Donnell
2011 Razldazl George D Ruth
2010 Tyrur McGuigan C Fahy
2009 College Causeway P Buckley
2008 Shelbourne Aston P Curtin
2007 Tyrur Rhino P Hennessy
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.
Bet £10 Get £30
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & full T&Cs apply.
Large Tab
Time: 0.0371
Memory: 2.42MB

Your bet is on!

Bet Slip (0)
Balance: £0.00
Remove all
The line, odds or availability of selections has changed.
Please review your betslip.
Total Stake: £ 0.00
Estimated Returns: £ 0.00
Bets are accepted in accordance with the operator's rules
and terms and conditions. Hillside (UK Sports) LP is licensed
and regulated by the British Gambling Commissioner
(Licence number 39563). Registered Office Hillside (UK Sports) LP
(registration number 117), Unit 1.1, First Floor, Waterport Place,
2 Europort Avenue, Gibraltar.
Treble the Odds - Paid in CASH
Valid to new players only. Profit Boost Ticket [PBT] is equivalent to 200% on top of a winning bets profit. Real money bets only, max stake of £/$/€10. Free bets do not qualify. PBT bets cannot be ‘Cashed in’. PBT expires after 7 days and additional wins (up to £/$/€5000) credited as cash upon bet settlement. This offer may not be combined with any other offer. Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General withdrawal restrictions & full T&Cs apply. 18+ begambleaware.org.
We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It